Need opinion on my custom laboratory equipment (titrators, stirrers etc.)

Started by vakarov, July 25, 2023, 11:59:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

vakarov

Hello fellow chemists!

My name is Serhii Vakarov, I work as a researcher in IGIC of NAS of Ukraine.

For already 5+ years I've been putting a lot of effort into device development. And now I would like to see if there is a need for the equipment that I've designed and used in my everyday laboratory work.

1. Titrator (burette, pH- and redox stabilizer)

A very versatile device. I built it just as a titrator, but quickly it became a much more capable device. Actually I have already 3-rd generation, I've attached the picture where the generations are side by side. I'm calling it "Evolution" :)

Possibilities:

- pH- and redox- titration. Actually they can be done simultaneously in a single experiment as I have 2 connectors for electrodes.

- When calibrated, up to 0.1% accuracy of volume measurement (Given the task to fill 10 ml (9.997g) of water I always get the results in the range 9.997-10.003 ml), 0.01 accuracy in pH-measurement and 1mV for redox

- Can be used as a burette

- 0.1°C accuracy of temperature sensor after calibration

- Can be used as pH- redox- stabilizer

- Saves all the data in the internal memory (128 MB) in .csv format. (It also can be used just for monitoring pH, redox, temperature for days)

- Has a standalone Windows/Android app to transfer the data from the internal memory

- A lot of customizable presets

I use up to 2 peristaltic pumps for titrant addition instead of syringe. This has its cons and pros

Pros:

- Cheap

- The titrant is contacting only with the BPT tubes that are inert

- Unlimited amount of titrant to add in a single experiment (we're basically are limited by the size of the flask of the titrant)

- Small size

- Easy to wash, low amount of titrant residues in the tubes

Cons: